It’s Monday! What are YOU reading? 1/14/13

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What’s Are You Reading? is a meme originally hosted by Sheila at Book Journey.  Jen and Kellee over at Teach Mentor Texts  host a KidLit version celebrating picture books to YA novels.

Jessica

What I read last week…

So last week I was successful in reading both books that I set out to read:

Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake – I was very happy with the conclusion on the Anna series.  After loving Anna Dressed in Blood, I could not be happier about the sequel.  Stay tuned for a review of Anna and this one later this week!

The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors!  Thank goodness The Retribution of Mara Dyer  is being released this year!  I am totally engrossed in Mara’s world and want t know what is going to happen next!

What I plan on reading this week…

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – I still don’t know how I have never read this one before!  I am lost in the 1920’s when I read this.  I will probably be done with this by tomorrow.

Dead to You by Lisa McMann – This one has been getting a ton of love from my friends on Goodreads and Twitter.  I used a Christmas gift card from my uncle to get this one.

Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson – Another loved one by Goodreads and Twitter fans.  I have also been approved from Netgalley to read Hattie Ever After.  Have to get the first one done to appreciate the second!

Jacqueline:

Last week I finished reading several books, and have just begun a couple more. Here’s a recap!

Before I Go To Sleep I finished reading Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson. While not really YA (really, not at all) this book was extremely interesting and thought-provoking for me.  It’s about a woman with double-amnesia- she can’t remember what happened to her yesterday, nor can she remember what happened to her 15 years ago. As she struggles to get through every day, I was left with a million questions about what life must be like for someone in that condition.

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)I also finished reading Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake, which I will review for you in full in an upcoming post (see? Making good on my resolutions already!). Suffice it to say that the top of my to-read list this week includes the sequel. We’ll talk more about that later.

My currently-reading list is fairly short, for me. I am reading this little gem:  it’s called Shakespeare: The World as Stage
Shakespeare: The World as Stage and it’s written by the ever-witty Bill Bryson. It’s not really a biography of our friend Will, but instead an examination of the previous works written about him and why they are all-too-often wrong. It’s actually making me a little sad, as I just keep thinking about how little we know about the man and the fact that we will probably never know much more than we do now. It’s cleverly written, and very interesting.

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

I am also reading The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness in my attempts to find more books that appeal to teenage
boys. I’m about a third of the way though, but I’m not quite sure just yet what to say about this book. I’ll review it in full once I’ve finished it.

 

Leave a Reply

