Girl of Nightmares, a Review

 From Goodreads: t’s been months since the ghost of Anna Korlov opened a door to Hell in her basement and disappeared into it, but ghost-hunter Cas Lowood can’t move on.

His friends remind him that Anna sacrificed herself so that Cas could live—not walk around half dead. He knows they’re right, but in Cas’s eyes, no living girl he meets can compare to the dead girl he fell in love with.

Now he’s seeing Anna everywhere: sometimes when he’s asleep and sometimes in waking nightmares. But something is very wrong…these aren’t just daydreams. Anna seems tortured, torn apart in new and ever more gruesome ways every time she appears.

Cas doesn’t know what happened to Anna when she disappeared into Hell, but he knows she doesn’t deserve whatever is happening to her now. Anna saved Cas more than once, and it’s time for him to return the favor.

Jessica’s Review:

When I read Anna Dressed in Blood last year, I was genuinely freaked out.  I remember laying in bed and checking over my shoulder because I was convinced someone, or something, was watching me.  Blake did not disappoint with the sequel and conclusion in Girl of Nightmares.

As much as I loved Anna in the first book, this one really focuses on Cas.  I was able to feel for Cas even though I wanted to agree with everyone else that he needs to move on.  There was a whole new side to Cas that we did not see in the first book that made me love him more.  I will admit, I was hoping for more Anna in this novel, but I was not disappointed overall even with less Anna.  I enjoyed the continued development of Thomas and Carmel.  I also adored the shady new character of Jestine in this book.  I don’t want to give too much away about her, but I can appreciate another tough female character.  And, of course, the humor is there among all the character as before.

Blake takes the plot in a whole different direction (London!) than I expected, and I love when authors do that.  Blake is also able to explain much more about the athame and the whole business of ghost hunting.  I was able to accept things without explanation in Anna Dressed in Blood, but I definitely appreciate a better understanding of everything now.

I am so glad that this book is not only the sequel but the conclusion of Anna and Cas.  I am a little “seried” out right now.  I am happy with how the story ended up and loved that Blake kept me guessing on how it will all end throughout.  If you liked Anna the first time through, make sure you pick up Girl of Nightmares. 

Leave a Reply

