Time for Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is our top ten bookish goals for 2013.

Because it’s always good to have goals, right?

Jacqueline’s goals:

  1. In 2013 I vow to write better reviews of the books that I read. Like, reviews that actually tell a person something and may help them decide to read (or not to read) that particular book. Really. I will.
  2. I will perform more booktalks for our kids. Along with that, I will actually put more than 2 seconds of thought into the booktalks before giving them, in hopes of actually enticing more kids to read said books.
  3. In order to do both #1 and #2 more effectively, I will take notes as I read. But let’s be real here, these notes will just be a post-it on the back of the book where I at least track the names of the characters.
  4. To hopefully attract more of my male students (who are tough to win over, it seems) I am going to attempt to read more books that appeal to boys. Now I just need some boys who read to help put me on that path.
  5. This year I would really like to become more involved in, and aware of, the book-world in general. I need to get that Tweety thing, read more reading blogs, and go meet some authors somewhere. If you can help, let me know!
  6. I am giving myself a pass this year. A pass to be more in control of my own reading. On reading books just because I think I should, on continuing books that are terrible, and on agreeing with others that a book was good when I didn’t think it was. Not going to happen in 2013.
  7. I have 2 daughters- a 3 year old and a 1 year old. While they both already love books (well, one likes to “read” them, the other thinks they taste good), I feel like I could really spend more time reading TO them and less time modeling reading myself. I’ve made a point to make sure they see me reading all the time, but it’s time to actually sit with them both and read a bit more.
  8. This is the year when I will finally tackle a few of those “classics” that I should have read (and sometimes pretend I have read) but never did. I know this seems to run counter-intuitive to goal #6, but that’s the way it goes I guess.
  9. To off-set #8, I am going to let myself read at least one book this year that I have already loved and adored. The Fountainhead, probably, and also The Great Gatsby in preparation for the movie. Because that movie? It. Looks. Awesome.
  10. My last goal is going to be the hardest to actually achieve, I think. I’ve already mentioned my love for audiobooks, but this is the time to take it to the next level. I load books on my ipod, plug it into my car stereo, and listen. But, I never take the darn thing out of the car. Ever. I know that ipods are transportable and that I really could be listening while doing a plethora of other things, and it’s time to just do that already. Because I was wickedly jealous of the man in Meijer the other night listening to his ipod while selecting his eggs. Genius, really.

Jessica

1. I will conference with my students more about their reading.  I swear to do this all the time.  I think because I have not done it much, I don’t have the confidence.  It is a mix of not wanting to disrupt my students and not knowing what to say.  I have been reading Book Love by Penny Kittle and she has some great suggestions.  I will follow them this year.

2. I will read more of the “Classics.”  Sometimes, people are surprised about books I have not read when I am an English teacher.  I know it is giving into the stereotype, but I know there are amazing titles out there I have missed in my education.  I plan on making that up.

3. I will expand outside of YA this year.  As much as I love Young Adult Literature (I tell my students how lucky they are because of all the amazing titles they have at their disposal) and know there’s value in that so I can share the titles with students, I have many books for adults on my bookshelf and on my Nook that have been looked over for years in some cases.  I will read more of those along with my YA.

4. To go along with that, I am going to address one of my reading gaps – nonfiction.  I went through a memoir phrase a few years ago, but I have not done much informational reading.  I know I have students who enjoy these types of books and I am at a lost for titles to share with them.  Plus, the information I gain from them can help me in teaching and in life.

5. I will start sharing book trailers with my students.  I love doing book talks, but there is a whole wealth of book talking  available with book trailers to share with students.  And they are very visually appealing, which will draw in many students.

6. I will get back into reading aloud to my students.  Last year, Jacqueline and I read Wonder by RJ Palacio out loud to our tenth graders.  Many of them loved it.  I even lost it in front of one class and Jacqueline had to take over.  I started reading this year and then it fell away because I got overwhelmed about time.  However, I know the value of students being read to and will continue this again.

7. This is more writing, but I want to get back into writing again.  Being a published author is a dream I have had since I learned how to write.  However, I always give up on my writing.  I want to dedicate time to my writing again and find joy in sharing stories.

8. I will read more picture books.  I have seen the power picture books have in my own classroom.  I am still not as familiar with picture books as I would like to be in order to know newer texts to share with students.  I want to read more and bring more into my classroom.

9. I will give students more opportunities to talk about books.  I will give them the opportunities to share books in class and talk about what they are reading with each other.  As much as Jacqueline and I can talk about what we have read, a peer telling how much he or she enjoyed a book carries much more weight than anything we could say.

10.  I will continue to be an advocate for choice reading in English classrooms.  Because I am lucky to be surrounded by many like-thinking people, I forget how some educators are not sure about dedicating time to reading in class and giving students so much choice.  I was one of them a few years ago.  I could not imagine giving time in class for silent reading; now we do it almost every day.  I will use this blog and my social networks to help promote the importance of choice and getting books in students’ hands.

What are your goals this year?

Leave a Reply

