It’s Monday – What are you reading? 1/7/13

Mon Reading Button PB to YA

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is originally hosted by Shelia at Book Journey and Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts  host a kidlit and YA version as well.

Mrs. Crawford 

With last week still being break, I read a little more than I usually do over the last two weeks.  I read two books last week.

Uprising by Margaret Peterson Haddix – I loved this piece of historical fiction.  I learned so much more about the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory and the fights for rights as well as the fire.  I book talked it today to my classes.

Matched by Ally Condie – I have heard a lot about this one and finally read it.  Overall, I enjoyed it and plan on reading the rest of the series.

I have a few plans for this week, which I am calling the week of book 2’s:

Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake – I loved Anna Dressed in Blood last year and am enjoying reading the next part of Cas and Anna’s story.  I can’t wait to see where this ends up!

The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – I also loved The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer.  My sister-in-law even got me a signed copy of it for Christmas.  I read the first chapter at the end of the first book and desperately want to know what is happening with Mara.

Mrs. Terbrack

This week I am finishing up a few books and looking forward to starting another. I listen to a lot of audiobooks, mainly while I drive. I used to think there was no way I could follow a story in short bursts and with no visual reference, but I have really grown to love audio over the years! I never listen to the radio, and love the feeling of extra accomplishment I get when I’m driving to work or out running errands. I have been listening to Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor for awhile now, and am almost to the end! It is slightly more fantasy than I am used to, but I am really enjoying it. I will probably be picking up the sequel, Days of Blood and Starlight, sometime soon.

Next up I plan to listen to Speaker of the Dead by Orson Scott Card, which is the sequel to Ender’s Game (which I LOVED). I’m also powering through a challenge another teacher friend and I embarked on to read the Bible from cover to cover in 90 days. I’m 60% through!
Speaker for the Dead (Ender's Saga, #2)Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)

As soon as I get a second, I am going to start reading Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson. While technically an adult novel, I think the concept would be interesting for high school kids to think about: the main character, Christine, suffers from both types of amnesia. Most days, she wakes up thinking she is a child and soon realizes she is a middle-aged, married woman. She cannot remember anything past her youth, and forgets everything that happens in her life every night when she goes to sleep. I can’t wait to get started reading!

Before I Go To Sleep

Jessica and I also both created our reading goals for 2013 on Goodreads. If you don’t already use Goodreads, you should! We love to make new friends, so please add us both so we can see what you are reading too!

Happy Monday everybody!

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday – What are you reading? 1/7/13

  1. Love, love, love this, you two! Unfortunately, I’m reading textbooks for my GVSU class 😦 I am in the middle of Divergent, though. Came recommended to me by a student who actually gave me a hard copy of the book. So far, it’s very Hunger Games-esque, and I like it!

Leave a Reply

