Top Ten Tuesday: Books We Resolve to Read in 2013

It is a new year and we are starting off our new blog!  We are starting off with the top ten books we each resolve to read.  Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Mrs. Terbrack

After reaching (and exceeding!) my goal of reading 100 books in 2012, I now have to try to match (or exceed!) that number in 2013. My list last year consisted of a wide variety of genres, subjects, and writing styles, some of which stretched my reading boundaries quite a bit. Here are my top ten Must-Reads for 2013, in no particular order.

1. Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by R.L. LaFevers 

Historical, fantasy, nuns who are trained assassins. I’ll be reading this one quite soon.

2. Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer

This sequel to Cinder is an absolute must-read for me. I’ll be waiting for the day it is released in February!

3. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

A GoodReads 2012 book of the year, this novel is set in a lighthouse on a tiny island in Australia. I love lighthouses, islands, and Australia, so this sounds perfect for me.

4. Speaker for the Dead (Ender’s Game #2) by Orson Scott Card

I know I’m a bit late to the Ender’s Game scene, but when I read the book late in 2012 I knew this would be a series I actually finish. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this “sequel,” especially because Card says this is the book he really wanted to write, and that he wrote Ender’s Game just so this would make sense.

5. Reached (Matched #3) by Ally Condie

Another series that I started in 2012 and really grew to love. This dystopian society matches teenagers with their mates at an early age. For Cassia, the matching did not go as planned, and her future has been in question ever since. I can’t wait to read this third installment of the series.

6. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

I read and adored Anna and the French Kiss in 2012, and was so thrilled to hear that Perkins has written another novel that incorporates the same characters and setting, but through the lens of a completely new couple. I love  boarding school stories, and setting them in Paris just adds to the interest! Waiting until May for this will be difficult.

7. Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me was quite interesting, and I’m looking forward to this sequel. I can’t wait to learn more about the secret gifts that a small sector of this society has been endowed with, and to find out what they do with them.

8. Four Sisters, All Queens by Sherry Jones

The true story of four sisters who helped shape the course of history in Europe by marrying kings, running countries, and battling against bitter enemies. Another GoodReads top pick from 2012, and right up my alley!

9. The House I loved by Tatiana deRosnay

I read Sarah’s Key when it first came out, and have been waiting for deRosnay to write another book. This one is set in Paris and features a bold woman who refuses to leave her home despite the destruction of the world around her.

10. Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas

This is one of the books I heard the most about in 2012 from other bloggers, so I think it’s time I read it. Celeana is an assassin who has been taken before the Prince- he agrees to grant her her freedom, as long as she assists him in a competition to find a new royal assassin. As the competitors come up murdered, she must figure out why before she is killed too.

Mrs. Crawford

In 2012, I set a goal of 50 books.  I met that goal much earlier than anticipated.  I upped it to 65; I finished the year having read 70 books.  I set my goal for 75 this year.  These are the books I must read:

Classics I have never read

I will admit that there are a few books I should have read at some point but never did.  I missed them somehow.  I resolve to read these three (at least):

1. The Great Gatsbyby F. Scott Fitzgerald

I really have no idea why I have not read this one.  I loved Fitzgerald’s short stories I read in high school.  I just never had to read it.  With the movie coming out this year, I must read it before I see it.

2. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

I had the teacher in eleventh grade that did not have use read this one.  Everyone raved about it, but I never quite got to it.  This is number one on my Goodreads to-read shelf.  I have to do it!

3. Fahrenheit451 by Ray Bradbury

I have read Brave New World and 1984.  My brother has told me since his senior year I need to read this one as well.  Again, I love Bradbury’s short stories.  The time has come to make sure I finally check this one off the list.

Series Books

I found myself caught up in a number of series in the last year.  These are the books coming out in 2013 that I can’t wait to get my hands on!

4. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

I read Cinder this summer and loved it.  I can’t wait to see where the series will go.

5. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

I have really loved the Delirium series so far.  Pandemonium went in a whole new direction and while I anticipated the twist at the end, what a great way to leave us all hanging and wanting more.

6. The Madness Underneath by Marueen Johnson

I devoured The Name of the Star this summer.  This was my first taste of Johnson’s writing as well.  I really liked Rory and am excited to see where she ends up next.

Other Must-Reads

These are books I have heard rave reviews about from friends over the last year that will be one of the 75 for sure.

7. Gone Girlby Gillian Flynn

This was a book everyone was talking about last year.  I received it for Christmas from my uncle and will be reading it very soon.

8. Every Day by David Levithan

EVERYONE has been talking about Levithan’s newest novel.  I have been a huge fan since I saw him speak in college.  I bought it with a gift card so it will be read soon as well.

 9. Leverage by Joshua C. Cohen

I have heard a lot about this book that deals with the important topic of bullying.  I am trying to get a lot of books dealing with this topic to my students.  I have yet to purchase it but will be soon.

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Carr

This is one of the choice books for 11th grade.  Jacqueline has also been telling me it is a must read.  I will probably listen to this one in the car when I am back to work.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books We Resolve to Read in 2013

  1. I’d like to read Gone Girl and Grave Mercy as well. I’ve been thinking about trying the audio for Gone Girl, but I heard it’s quite long. I hope you like Leverage. If you haven’t already bought it, it’s out in paperback now so it’s a little more budget-friendly 🙂

Leave a Reply

